Books (and authors) I couldn’t possibly live without

I admit I have a problem when it comes to books. Though my pasty skin can be mainly blamed on genetics, I’m sure my habit of reading for hours on end (inside or in the shade) contributes to my ghostly look. I also spend a lot on books, but I justify it to myself because I read most of them multiple times. I also like to decorate with books. But anyway.

I’ve been asked to give a short list of must-reads, so here are some books I’d drag with me to that desert island after the shipwreck (they would, of course, get priority on the plank of wood keeping me afloat. I can swim).

1. Everything Jane Austen wrote, but especially Pride and Prejudice, Northhanger Abbey, and her juvenalia (Lesley Castle, Lady Susan, Love and Freindship). And yes, it’s spelled that way on purpose.

2. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy

3. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

4. Multiple works by Joyce Carol Oates – two of my favorites are Firefox and High Lonesome, a collection of short stories.

5. The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

6. The Portable Dorothy Parker by, well, Dorothy Parker

7. Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers

8. Everything by Jasper Fforde

9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

10. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

What books could you never live without?

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Reading List

One response to “Books (and authors) I couldn’t possibly live without

  1. Nell

    oh good, I’m glad to see that we agree on so many, because that means that I’ll probably like the ones I haven’t read as well.

    I’m a sucker for children’s lit. Little Women, The Thirteen Clocks (Thurber), and most Diana Wynne Jones fantasy novels are great. Margaret Mahy also is up there for fantasy.

    Jo Walton’s Ha’penny, Farthing, and Half a Crown are halfway between mystery and fantasy, and are all well written.

    For mysteries, Sayers and Peter Dickinson make me happy. I love a good British mystery. I also just discovered Laurie King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes mysteries, and enjoyed one on a plane. I liked it even better that I got it in a mystery package of “Three mild mysteries for $3!”

    Now I just have to pay a library fine so that I can check out more books.

Leave a Reply

