Summer reading list

One of the nice things about being out of school and unemployed (though unemployment is not a state I want to be in) is the oodles of time to read. At school, I was swamped with work, and could barely make it through 10 pages of a novel before falling asleep. And what I had to read for school took up the rest of my time. Though William Strunk’s The Elements of Style is a fantastic resource for journalists, it is not exactly an exciting read.

Anyway, I am using the time (when I am not job hunting) to read. I have just finished Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, and enjoyed it immensely. The next new book on my list is A Garden of Earthly Delights by Joyce Carol Oates. But first I have to finish Pride and Prejudice, which I’m reading for the umpteenth time.

It’s lovely revisiting books – I find that a good story never gets old. Along with Pride and Prejudice, here is a partial list of books I plan to revisit this summer:

The Scarlet Pimpernel, Baroness Orczy: One of my absolute favorites. Adventure, suspense, romance and the French Revolution – what’s not to love?

The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien: I actually might like this better than The Lord of the Rings. It was the first Tolkien I read, and it doesn’t end multiple times. And there are rumors of a movie in the works.

Northhanger Abbey & Lesley Castle, Jane Austen: Two of my favorite Austens. Northhanger Abbey is a gothic parody complete with a murder mystery and cobwebbed corners, and Lesley Castle (Austen’s juvenalia) is just really funny.

Gaudy Night, Dorothy Sayers: This book got me through my undergraduate thesis. A great mystery, and full of puns and literary references.

Harry Potter 1-7, J.K. Rowling: These books never get old. I want to get through them all before the seventh movie (part 1) comes out in November. Yes, I’m counting down.

Short so far, but I’m constantly on the lookout for new books, as well as going back to old favorites. Suggestions are always appreciated!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading List

Leave a Reply

